Swear to Shake It Up if You Swear to Listen…

Last night Sophia gave me a new Year of Jenny rule:  I must ask out a guy.  Yeah right.  I can’t even ask the delivery guy for extra soy sauce, and now I’m supposed to be like, hey want to date me?  Not to the delivery guy, obvs, although knowing Sophia, I wouldn’t put it past her.

Still, I guess this is a pretty good time to ask a guy out, especially since it’s CMJ so there will be tons of music guys crawling around… Sophia says no music guys, but what does she know?  I mean she totally has a crush on my brother, so why not?

Anyway I thought I did a great job of meeting guys while we were on vacation.  Even though my heart was totally broken and I couldn’t stop thinking about Reed and I still have no idea why he dumped me and I’m going a little insane, I managed to flirt like hell with Sebastian.  Almost had him too.  Grrr.  So I guess I’m not totally hopeless, and do you know at Shop on Ludlow the other day, some girl was like, “hey, aren’t you that girl with the blog?”  I was like, are you serious? Maybe what Sophia says is true, “No fame, no gain.”  Ha.

I still don’t know if/ how I’m going to have the guts to do this, but I made a list of the best places in the city to meet guys – if you have any to add, please let me know.

Thursday Nights at The Annex
The Stolen Transmission party is crawling with gorgeous boys, but I feel like most of them are already taken!  Like Brandon from Nightmare of You is going out with Ultragrrrl (sigh) and the Art Brut boys are all totally in love with Karen and Michael from Stellastarr has a girlfriend and Andy Carlson is always with five different underage flavors, but still – it’s more loaded than a Laguna Beach casting call.  Now I just need to have the guts to talk to them.

Barnes & Noble at Lincoln Center
Oh my gosh I have such a weakness for jazz musicians and minor celebrity theater boys and they’re all here; once I even saw Billy Crudup although now ever since the whole Claire Danes thing it’s like ew ew ew.  Still, it’s my favorite place for an Ethan Hawke sighting and, um, hopefully some guys that haven’t cheated on their gorgeous starlet girlfriends with grossness.

Stereo on MisShapes Wednesday
If you like your boys in jeans skinner than you are, this is a good bet, and the music is great, and it’s also one of the only places I’ve taken Sophia that she hasn’t hated – of course, she crawled off with Bijou and Nicky all night, but that’s okay because I sat with Charlotte Ronson and we talked about her next batch of Tooshies and she introduced me to her brother Mark who is SO HOT.  Now if only he lived on this coast…

Private Men’s Club at Black & White on Tuesdays
The Olsen girls are always here and it’s fun to stare at them, and also this boy who runs the party, Rob Hitt, is sort of adorable – he was in that video on MTV?  Where the boy wears a knit bunny hat and makes sad faces?  That’s him.  I’m still too shy to talk to him but one day.  Also, Bono was there two weeks ago, but uh, he’s taken.

Another Music on West 4th St.
I met Reed here.  Sigh.  But I would still go back, I mean, they have so many amazing albums an it’s so small that it’s easy to talk to people.  Also, they sold out of my brother’s album in like two days, so I’ll always love them.

Any places I left out?  Sorry if this post is a little unfocused but last night I couldn’t stop thinking about Reed and I cried and I cried… I finally had to drag myself out of bed and watch Frasier reruns.  It was bad.  Anyway… The Year of Jenny must continue!

Leave a Reply

